The Indian head on the 14th Street side of the Wigwam is a 20 x 24 foot ceramic tile mosaic. It is a huge mosaic consisting of 80,000 3/4' sqaure and diagonal pieces of tile. It was designed by Dorothy Masters of Anderson's National Tile Company.
In this view of Anderson' s Meridian Street, taken from Twelfth and Meridian, three movie theaters--the Times, the Rivieria and the Paramount--are visible. Less than a block south is the State Theater.
The Banner Store, at 923-929 Meridian Street, was one of Anderson's longtime department stores. In 1965, the Banner Store merged with the Fair Store to become Weilers-Fair Store. Later, a Hoyt Wright department store was in this location. ...
Downtown Anderson, looking north from 14th Street to North Anderson. The Broadway and Madison Avenue bridges over Killbuck Creek can be seen in the distance. In the foreground is Anderson's downtown McDonalds with the Golden Arches.
This picture of Anderson's First Methodist Church, the oldest continuous congregation in the city, shows the 1901 building to the right. This building was destroyed by fire December 23, 1960 and a new church was constructed on the same site.
Anderson's Grand Opera house, east of the Grand Hotel, was dedicated in 1895. The Grand became the Granada Theater, hosting vaudeville acts, during the Depression and finally the Starland movie theater. The building was razed in the early 1950s.
Anderson's Methodist Church, now known as First United Methodist Church, was organized in 1827. This building, located in the 1200 block of Jackson Street, was completed in 1901 and destroyed by fire December 23, 1960.
Street scene of Anderson's Main Street, looking north from 11th Street. The Elks Home and Grand Hotel locations are now occupied by the City Parking Garage and the Anderson Police Department Buildings.