Many glass factories located in Madison County during the Gas Boom Era (1887-1915); most left quickly. The Penn-American Plate Glass Company in Alexandria was one of the longer-lived businesses. In 1912, it employeed 470 workers.
Shadyside Park, Anderson's largest city park, was dedicated in 1923. The grotto, a stone structure in the park's valley, is home to one of Anderson's most persistent legends. Many people claims that bears were kept caged in the grotto caves.
Colorized postcard shows mouth of cave in Mounds Park. The caves of Mounds Park are almost legendary. An apocryphal story (currently unverified) from the 1920's holds that a child was once lost in one for several hours. No caves are open to the...
Church of God (Anderson, Ind.) ; Anderson University
Church of God leaders felt drawn to an unused parcel of land in Park Place between Third and Fifth Streets, bordered by Union (later College Ave) when they visited Anderson in 1905. This three-story was the first building on that property. It...
Anderson's Methodist Church, now known as First United Methodist Church, was organized in 1827. This building, located in the 1200 block of Jackson Street, was completed in 1901 and destroyed by fire December 23, 1960.
Anderson's Presbyterian Church (later First Presbyterian Church) was organized in 1851. The church's third building, built in 1904, is located at 9th and Chase Streets and is still in use by the original congregation.