Moss Island Mill was built in 1836 by Joseph Mullanix and had 14 different owners in its long history. The property consisted of a large flouring mill, with a saw mill attached, run by a large water wheel.
Moss Island is west of Anderson in the White River. The island was owned by James Moss for many years. A small early community sprang up in the area, possibly in anticipation of intended Indiana canal, which was to pass close to the island.