Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: colonial
(327 results)



Display: 20

    • 43. 218 West Chestnut Street

    • Architecture; Education
    • The land was owned by the Croghan family. They were related to George Rogers Clark. Eakins and his company built the home and it was then lived in and owned by Artemis McNaughton. He ran the iron foundary at the Carworks (see image 19....
    • 30. Duffy Home

    • Architecture
    • This home was built by Captain Duffy, a steamboat captain, in the heydey of Steamboat / Packetboat river traffic. It's entrances and windows are finely decorated with ironwork, carvings, and arches.
    • 74. 414 and 416 Spring Street

    • Architecture; Education; Commerce; Commercial streets
    • These two buildings have been on Spring Street since the 1880's. 414 was originally the saloon of Andrew Kilgus. 414 is the building on the right. 416, the building on the left, was the drugstore of J. A. Graham. In 1983, the two buildings had...
    • 76. 426 Spring Street

    • Architecture; Education; Commerce; Commercial streets
    • In 1905 this was the site of J. C. Rescher's Racket Store. The building had been built between 1880 and 1890 in the Italianate style. A Nature's Pantry Natural Food Store was on the site in 1983.
    • 7. 319 East Riverside Dr.

    • Architecture
    • This Victorian three story home has a wrap around porch on the front and east side of the building. The single door front entrance features an half sun window over the top. The upstairs gingerbread cutout small porch also has a wrap around feature...
    • 11. 211 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • 211 East Riverside was built before 1830 as a duplex in the Federal style. While the house looks the same on both sides of the front, the bricks are slightly different colors to distinguish the two homes. Both entrances are right of center. The...
    • 16. 228 West Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • When the Kalmbach family first built and lived in this home, there were no street numbers assigned to the houses, just a description of its location along Front Street. Numbers arrived by 1903 and the family lived at 224 Front Street. By 1982,...
    • Hoosier Minuteman, Volume 3, Number 10 November 1976

    • American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976 -- Indiana -- Periodicals; Indiana American Revolution Bicentennial Commission -- Periodicals
    • Newsletter of the Indiana American Revolution Bicentennial Commission (IARBC). The purpose of the publication was to arouse interest and participation in the nationwide American Revolution Bicentennial Celebration by reporting on resources and the...
    • 66. 249 Spring Street

    • Architecture; Education; Commerce; Commercial streets; Architectural elements
    • According the Clark County Historian, Jeanne Burke, this building served as John Schultze's Tailor store in the 1890's. The building is representative of the Italiante style of architecture and was a product of the 1860 to 1870 building boom in...
    • 8. 317 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • This home features a flat front with carved lintels over the three windows at first and second story levels. The front door is to the left of center and is covered by a wrap around colannade. In 1983, the home was lived in Frank R. Kossa and Edward...
    •  23. 304 East Market Street

    • Architecture; Photographers
    • In 1890, a lawyer by the name of Melchiort Stannard built this home. While used for a home for many years, in the later part of the twentieth century it became the home of Walter L. Whyland and where he operates his photography studio, Whyland...
    • 5. 325 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street. This Victorian home was built sometime between 1890 and 1900. Miss Mary A. Kennedy was a resident at least through 1983. In 1983 Helen M. Knight was also listed as a resident.
    • 46. 420 East Maple Street

    • Architecture; Education; Churches
    • 420 East Maple Street was the parsonage for the German Methodist Church. In 1905 Rev. E. F. Schneider was the pastor and resident of the home. The church voted to disband after the 1937 flood, in 1938, and was eventually sold to the Seventh Day...
    • 10. 501 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The address of this home when it was built was 401 Front Street, but now it is 401 East Riverside Drive. In 1905, it was the home of Jeffersonville's Mayor, Henry Burts and his family. The Mayor, a democrat, was in office from 1904 to 1906. in...
    • 3. 415 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • Originally built by P. F. Myers circa 1860's or 1870's, this building has been used as a home, a hotel, a hospital, a boarding house, apartments (1983), and is now a condominium. The original street name was Front Street. In 1983, it's residents...
    • 63. 230 East Montgomery Street, Clarksville

    • Architecture; Education; Schools; Municipal government
    • This building, the original location of Colgate School has served three purposes for the town. The first as an elementary school. The second use was as the Clarksville, Indiana Town Hall. The new Clarksville Town Hall is located north of the...
    • 19. Carworks

    • Architecture; Industry; Railroads
    • The American Car Company was a major employer in Clark County from the mid 1800's through the early decades of the 1900's. The business built the cars for trolley's and railroad stock. Beside the sheds, there were a number of buildings that...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK