Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: craftsman
(92 results)



Display: 20

    • Shop Notes 1926

    • Monroe County (Ind.) -- History; Bloomington (Ind.) -- History; Showers Brothers Furniture Factory (Bloomington, Ind.) -- History; Furniture industry and trade -- Indiana -- Bloomington -- History; Business enterprises -- Indiana -- Monroe County;...
    • Newsletter created for and by employees of the Showers Brothers Company, a furniture manufacturer in Bloomington, Indiana. Covers topics on worker safety, entertainment, recreation, and local and personal news.
    • Shop Notes 1917

    • Monroe County (Ind.) -- History; Bloomington (Ind.) -- History; Showers Brothers Furniture Factory (Bloomington, Ind.) -- History; Furniture industry and trade -- Indiana -- Bloomington -- History; Business enterprises -- Indiana -- Monroe County;...
    • Newsletter created for and by employees of the Showers Brothers Company, a furniture manufacturer in Bloomington, Indiana. Covers topics on worker safety, entertainment, recreation, and local and personal news.
    • 29. 120 High Street

    • Architecture
    • This home, now a part of Jeffersonville, was built between 1870 and 1880 in a community once known as Port Fulton." Alan F. Fox was the resident in 1983 at the time of the first viewing of the Historic Homes slide show. The home is built up a...
    • 30. Duffy Home

    • Architecture
    • This home was built by Captain Duffy, a steamboat captain, in the heydey of Steamboat / Packetboat river traffic. It's entrances and windows are finely decorated with ironwork, carvings, and arches.
    • 31. 217 East High Street

    • Architecture; Inventors; Steamboats
    • This home, in what was once Port Fulton, but now a part of Jeffersonville, was built by Daniel French and his family around 1832 It is one of the few early Jeffersonville buildings to survive the flood of 1838. Daniel French invented a superior...
    • 36. 944 East Chestnut Street

    • Architecture
    • This one story home was the home of Dr. Charles McBride. It was purchased for he and his wife by his father-in-law, Calvin Cook. Calvin Cook was a member of Advent Christian Church. In 1983, Mary Harris was the owner of the home.
    • 33. East High Street

    • Architecture
    • At the most eastern end of High Street, this home is perched on top of a hill. The home has a porch that extends not quite all the way across the face of the building. This porch faces the Ohio River. on the left side it is evident that the...
    • 34. 1024 East Chestnut Street

    • Architecture
    • Daniel Dietrich built this home on East Chestnut about 1860. It is a two story, with attic area. While described as Italianate, it has many of the features of a decorated Federal style home. The arched windows with the hoods are a welcoming...
    • 3. 415 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • Originally built by P. F. Myers circa 1860's or 1870's, this building has been used as a home, a hotel, a hospital, a boarding house, apartments (1983), and is now a condominium. The original street name was Front Street. In 1983, it's residents...
    • 1. Historic Homes Slide Show

    • Architecture; Octagonal Buildings
    • Originally titled: Our Architectural Heritage in 1976, the name was changed to Historic Homes by 1982. Seventy eight Jeffersonville and Clarksville buildings are highlighted in this program. They include businesses with living quarters on upper...
    • 7. 319 East Riverside Dr.

    • Architecture
    • This Victorian three story home has a wrap around porch on the front and east side of the building. The single door front entrance features an half sun window over the top. The upstairs gingerbread cutout small porch also has a wrap around feature...
    • 4. 409 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street, but the name was changed to Riverside. This home has both a ground floor arched entrance and a main first floor entrance to the left of center. The ground floor is limestone block with the upper two levels...
    • 2. 417 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The home is one of the earlier ones in Jeffersonville, built after the 1832 flood. In the front there are two stories with a single story to the rear. The house sits up a level from the street, separated by a low stone retaining wall and four...
    •  23. 304 East Market Street

    • Architecture; Photographers
    • In 1890, a lawyer by the name of Melchiort Stannard built this home. While used for a home for many years, in the later part of the twentieth century it became the home of Walter L. Whyland and where he operates his photography studio, Whyland...
    • 5. 325 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street. This Victorian home was built sometime between 1890 and 1900. Miss Mary A. Kennedy was a resident at least through 1983. In 1983 Helen M. Knight was also listed as a resident.
    • 11. 211 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • 211 East Riverside was built before 1830 as a duplex in the Federal style. While the house looks the same on both sides of the front, the bricks are slightly different colors to distinguish the two homes. Both entrances are right of center. The...
    • 10. 501 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The address of this home when it was built was 401 Front Street, but now it is 401 East Riverside Drive. In 1905, it was the home of Jeffersonville's Mayor, Henry Burts and his family. The Mayor, a democrat, was in office from 1904 to 1906. in...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK