Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: melding
(66 results)



Display: 20

    • 22. 303 West Market Street

    • Architecture
    • 303 West Market Street was built around 1870. It was the home of one of the most prominent members of the Jeffersonville German community, Herman Preefer. Herr Preefer was a charter member of St. Lucas /St. Luke's church, helped establish the...
    • 9. 309 East Riverside Drive 1982

    • Architecture
    • This brick home features two faces on its front, the west side a square block that resembles a tower with a wooden fence and possibly a patio area on top. The bottom floor of the 'tower' side features a recessed porch and entrance. The east side...
    • 10. 501 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The address of this home when it was built was 401 Front Street, but now it is 401 East Riverside Drive. In 1905, it was the home of Jeffersonville's Mayor, Henry Burts and his family. The Mayor, a democrat, was in office from 1904 to 1906. in...
    • 40. 111 West Chestnut Street

    • Architecture; Education
    • This restored building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) in 1982. To its left, the city has created a small walled garden that is used for a variety of functions. Built by brothers David and Wilson Grisamore, with each...
    • 76. 426 Spring Street

    • Architecture; Education; Commerce; Commercial streets
    • In 1905 this was the site of J. C. Rescher's Racket Store. The building had been built between 1880 and 1890 in the Italianate style. A Nature's Pantry Natural Food Store was on the site in 1983.
    • 3. 415 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • Originally built by P. F. Myers circa 1860's or 1870's, this building has been used as a home, a hotel, a hospital, a boarding house, apartments (1983), and is now a condominium. The original street name was Front Street. In 1983, it's residents...
    • 4. 409 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street, but the name was changed to Riverside. This home has both a ground floor arched entrance and a main first floor entrance to the left of center. The ground floor is limestone block with the upper two levels...
    • 5. 325 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street. This Victorian home was built sometime between 1890 and 1900. Miss Mary A. Kennedy was a resident at least through 1983. In 1983 Helen M. Knight was also listed as a resident.
    • 1. Historic Homes Slide Show

    • Architecture; Octagonal Buildings
    • Originally titled: Our Architectural Heritage in 1976, the name was changed to Historic Homes by 1982. Seventy eight Jeffersonville and Clarksville buildings are highlighted in this program. They include businesses with living quarters on upper...
    • 11. 211 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • 211 East Riverside was built before 1830 as a duplex in the Federal style. While the house looks the same on both sides of the front, the bricks are slightly different colors to distinguish the two homes. Both entrances are right of center. The...
    • 13. 222 West Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • 222 West Riverside was built by Nora Lyon (Mrs. James) Wathen (Mrs. John) Adams, the daughter in law of the Wathen who owned the Jeff Ferry Company. She had no descendents. The home burned sometime between 1980 and 1982. There were no residents...
    • 14. 304 West Riverside Drive

    • Architecture; Floods
    • The home at 304 West Riverside was known as the Read-Ransom House as it was built for Sarah Read (Mrs. Huett) Ransom. She had no descendents and by 1983, the house had been turned into an apartment building. Living at the house in 1984 were Laura...
    • 16. 228 West Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • When the Kalmbach family first built and lived in this home, there were no street numbers assigned to the houses, just a description of its location along Front Street. Numbers arrived by 1903 and the family lived at 224 Front Street. By 1982,...
    • 19. Carworks

    • Architecture; Industry; Railroads
    • The American Car Company was a major employer in Clark County from the mid 1800's through the early decades of the 1900's. The business built the cars for trolley's and railroad stock. Beside the sheds, there were a number of buildings that...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK